Evidence rated

Original ReportingResearch & Trials

Oral Oncology Publishes Corrigendum for Phase II Head and Neck Cancer Trial

A correction notice has been registered for a phase II trial evaluating neoadjuvant paclitaxel-carboplatin followed by surgery.

By Next Standard Health Newsroom2 min read
Abstract illustration representing a scientific correction or corrigendum notice in a medical journal.
Abstract illustration representing a scientific correction or corrigendum notice in a medical journal.

Key takeaways

  • A corrigendum has been published in the journal Oral Oncology for a phase II clinical trial.
  • The affected trial evaluated neoadjuvant paclitaxel-carboplatin followed by surgery for locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma.
  • The original study was published in 2025 in volume 170 of Oral Oncology under article identifier 107745.
  • The PubMed registry record under number 42697793 does not specify the exact corrections or modifications made to the trial data.

The medical journal Oral Oncology has published a corrigendum for a phase II clinical trial evaluating neoadjuvant therapy in patients with locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma. This correction notice is registered in the PubMed database under record number 42697793.

The original clinical trial investigated the use of paclitaxel-carboplatin as neoadjuvant therapy followed by surgery in this patient population. The original study was published in 2025 in volume 170 of Oral Oncology, under the article identifier 107745.

The brief PubMed registry record does not specify the exact corrections or modifications made to the trial data. The published record contains the title of the corrigendum but does not include any accompanying abstract text or details about the specific correction.

What Happened

A corrigendum was published in Oral Oncology. The notice addresses the 2025 paper titled "A phase II clinical trial of paclitaxel-carboplatin as neoadjuvant therapy followed by surgery in patients with locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma" (volume 170, article 107745). The current PubMed record does not include any accompanying abstract text or details about the specific correction.

What The Evidence Shows

The source reports the existence of a corrigendum for a phase II clinical trial. The clinical trial itself investigated paclitaxel-carboplatin as a neoadjuvant therapy followed by surgery for patients with locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma. No other clinical findings, patient numbers, statistical outcomes, hazard ratios, or p-values are reported in this source document.

What We Don't Know Yet

The primary limitation of this source is that the published registry record does not contain the full text of the corrigendum or any details regarding what was corrected in the original phase II trial. No sample size, demographics, clinical outcomes, or adverse events are reported. It is not possible to determine from this source how the correction affects the original study's findings.

What Comes Next

The source text does not report any plans, next steps, or future research directions for the authors, sponsors, or the clinical trial itself.

What This Means

A correction has been formally registered for the phase II trial of neoadjuvant paclitaxel-carboplatin followed by surgery in patients with locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma. Because the specific modifications are not detailed in the available text, readers must consult the full corrigendum in Oral Oncology to understand the changes made to the 2025 publication.

Original Source

PubMed (NCBI E-utilities): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42697793/

Questions readers ask

What clinical trial is associated with this corrigendum?
The corrigendum is associated with a phase II clinical trial that evaluated paclitaxel-carboplatin as neoadjuvant therapy followed by surgery. The study population consisted of patients with locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma.
Where can the corrigendum be found?
The corrigendum was published in the journal Oral Oncology. The record is registered in the PubMed database under record number 42697793.
What specific changes were made to the original 2025 study?
The brief PubMed registry record does not specify the exact corrections or modifications made to the trial data. Consequently, the exact changes made to the original trial data or text remain unspecified in this source.

What this means

A correction has been formally registered for the phase II trial of neoadjuvant paclitaxel-carboplatin followed by surgery in patients with locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma. Because the specific modifications are not detailed in the available text, readers must consult the full corrigendum in Oral Oncology to understand the changes made to the 2025 publication.

Limitations and uncertainties

  • The primary limitation of this source is that the published registry record does not contain the full text of the corrigendum or any details regarding what was corrected in the original phase II trial. No sample size, demographics, clinical outcomes, or adverse events are reported. It is not possible to determine from this source how the correction affects the original study's findings.

Sources

Related reporting

The Dispatch

Every other day, one story that moves medicine forward

Evidence-rated reporting on cancer innovation, precision medicine, and diagnostics. No hype, no unsupported claims.